The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward | More2Read
 

The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward


 

 


 

About The Last House on Needless Street 

 

A gripping psychological horror novel that delivers twist after twist, The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking exploration of the lengths we’ll go to protect ourselves from dark truths
A shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

 

 

Praise For The Last House on Needless Street

 

“The buzz building around Catriona Ward’s The Last House on Needless Street is real. I’ve read it and was blown away. It’s a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end. Haven’t read anything this exciting since Gone Girl.”
—Stephen King

“A chilling and beautiful masterpiece of suspense, cunningly plotted and written with the elegant imagination of a Shirley Jackson or a Sarah Waters. I was completely enthralled.”
—Joe Hill, New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman

“A breathtakingly ambitious book, gorgeously written, and never once shies away from showing you its fangs and its beautiful blood-filled heart. Stop reading this blurb already and open the damn book.”
—Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts

“A masterpiece. Beautiful, heartbreaking and quietly uplifting. One of the most powerful and well-executed novels I’ve read in years.”
—Alex North, author of The Whisper Man

“Absolutely brilliant. This is extraordinary, high-wire-act horror, audacious as hell.”
—Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Red Hands

“Dark and creepy, sad and wonderfully strange. It kept me glued and guessing right up to the end—I loved every inch of it.”
—Mike Mignola, creator of Hellboy

“This book was like an onion. Layer after layer after layer and then you’re crying and somebody’s got a knife. A brutal, twisty, puzzle box of a book. I stayed up way past my bedtime.”
—T. Kingfisher, author of The Hollow Places

“What did I just read?! One perfect sentence after the other … this is a story I wish I knew how to write—and I’m thrilled that Ward pulled off this trick of a book.”
—Rachel Howzell Hall, author of And Now She’s Gone

“THIS IS THE BEST HORROR NOVEL I HAVE EVER READ. Even Shirley Jackson, her Majesty, would have to concede to this one.”
—Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

“Books like this don’t come around too often… I would say I inhaled this in one, but I think I was too busy holding my breath throughout. Bravo.”
—Joanne Harris, New York Times bestselling author of The Gospel of Loki

“The new face of literary dark fiction.”
—Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

“Incredible. Absolutely creep-inducing, skin-crawling, even agonising; and also so beautiful, both in writing and heart. One of my favourite things in ages.”
—James Smythe, author of The Explorer

“Incredible. Just incredible. Throughout, I didn’t know where to put my heart. A breathtaking, fiercely beautiful novel.”
—Rio Youers, author of Lola on Fire

“Breathtakingly brilliant. Dark and relentlessly twisty, the best thing I’ve read this year.”
—Lisa Hall, author of The Party

“Not only edge of the seat, terrifying suspenseful horror, but it also broke my heart into tiny pieces. Such exquisite writing.”
—Muriel Gray, author of The Ancient

 

About Catriona Ward

Catriona Ward was born in Washington, DC and grew up in the United States, Kenya, Madagascar, Yemen, and Morocco. She studied English at Oxford and later the Creative Writing Masters at the University of East Anglia. She won the August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel for her debut, The Girl from Rawblood, and again for Little Eve, making her the first woman to win the prize twice. Little Eve also won the Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel, and is published by Nightfire. 

 

Photo Credit: Robert Hollingworth

 



 

Reviewed by Lou Pendergrast on 10 May 2021