RSS Feed

The Boy in the Iron Box by Guillermo del Toro & Chuck Hogan




About The Boy in the Iron Box

Flying dark, a plane carrying a team of mercenaries crash-lands on a remote snowy summit. When they come across a mazelike stone fortress, it’s no refuge from the wolves and the freezing wind. It’s more like a trap. What they discover can stop the heart—or worse. As terror takes a new shape, the real battle for survival begins in this unrelenting six-part serial from Academy Award–winning filmmaker and writer Guillermo del Toro. A blood-chilling series of short stories about an ancient secret that was never meant to be unleashed, featuring exclusive interior artwork. Each can be read or listened to in one breathless sitting.

(Reviews to follow)

About Falling Down
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 1 )

A group of mercenaries on an unsanctioned mission survives a plane crash in whiteout conditions in the Tian Shan mountains. The men are accustomed to danger. Now they’re growing accustomed to fear.

Team leader Liev and his band of survivors are stranded in the bitter winds with little hope of rescue—or outlasting the wolves that have scented blood. In the distance is the apparent sanctuary of an abandoned stone fortress. That an ancient bulwark even exists on this forsaken summit is beyond comprehension. So is what lies on the other side of its walls.






About The Pit and the Box
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 2 )

On an isolated mountain, a stone labyrinth provides rough shelter for a band of mercenaries. At its core lies a centuries-old mystery. But in part two of The Boy in the Iron Box, no secret is safe.

A concealed pit; an iron box, wrapped in chains; a statue of a boy. What unknowns await the anxious, disoriented team in this strange ruin? Night will tell.







About The Hunted
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 3 )

Their radio is sabotaged. The wolves are gathering outside. And for the increasingly desperate mercenaries, the worst is yet to come in part three of The Boy in the Iron Box: the box is empty.

In the wake of an inexplicable disappearance, Liev and his men use their tactical skills to last the night—by going hunting. Following a small, bare footprint in the snow leads only to the realization that someone, or something, is hunting them. 









About Risen
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 4 )

What has been awakened is unbound. The Boy is getting his first taste of freedom. As their comrades fall, fear threatens to consume the survivors in part four of The Boy in the Iron Box.

Liev’s plan: get his men out of this ancient stone prison, take their chances with the wolves, and descend the summit at first light. But in this snowbound hell, there’s soon to be a frightening new twist to survival.








About Siege
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 5 )

The mercenaries set an explosive scheme in motion to blow this bad dream to smithereens. But in part five of The Boy in the Iron Box, they soon find that even the best-laid plans can backfire.

With the morale of the team fraying, Liev makes a vow. He’s not going to leave anyone behind until the last stand is seen through to its cold and bitter end. On this night, it’s Liev who lies in wait to face everything he’s feared. It’s nothing like he expected.








About Encounter
(The Boy in the Iron Box Book 6 )

Dawn breaks, but the nightmare only intensifies in the shocking finale of The Boy in the Iron Box. In a final confrontation, the true nature of the Boy is coming to light.

In a stone chamber, the familiar young figure lingers with an unsettling calm. He has a question for Liev: Do you want to stop me? Now, for two merchants of death, each with his own purpose, one last contest lies ahead.











About the Authors


Guillermo del Toro is an Oscar-winning filmmaker, producer, and writer whose credits include Nightmare Alley, Pinocchio, The Shape of Water, and Pan’s Labyrinth. He cowrote The Strain Trilogy with Chuck Hogan, which was adapted for television by FX, and created the Netflix anthology series Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities.

Chuck Hogan is a bestselling author (The Town) and screenwriter (13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi). His most recent novel, Gangland, was selected as one of the New York Times’s Best Crime Novels of the year. He is also the coauthor, with Oscar-winning filmmaker Guillermo del Toro, of the internationally bestselling The Strain Trilogy.

Fabrizio De Tommaso is an Italian artist best known for his work on Sergio Bonelli Editore’s Dylan Dog and Morgan Lost. His stunning cover paintings have also garnered him work for such blockbuster books as Something Is Killing the Children and We Only Find Them When They’re Dead.

Guy Davis is a concept designer, production designer, illustrator, and storyboard artist for film, television, and video games. His credits include Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio, The Shape of Water, Nightmare Alley, Pacific Rim, and Crimson Peak, and the FX television series The Strain.